
6/28/2016 

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO DEAL IN FURS 

Authorized by § 29.1, Chapter 4, Code of Virginia 
FOR FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30 

 
       Check one: 
Non-refundable Application Fee:   $50.00  Resident _______ 
     $125.00 Nonresident _______ 

 
The permit shall be issued in the name of the firm or individual conducting the business, but shall authorize one 
person only, who shall be designated as a fur buyer, to personally solicit for the purchase of furs within the area 
covered by the permit. The fur buyer may be the permittee, if an individual, a member of the firm, or a bona 
fide employee of such individual or firm who is paid a regular stated monthly salary (§ 29.1-402B). 
 
Is this permit for:  New ______ Renewal ______ Previous VDGIF Permit Number: __________ 

 
Private use______ For Sale to the Public_____ 
 

____Mr. ____Mrs. ____Ms. ____Miss. 
 
Name: _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
___________________  __________  ________   County: ____________________________ 
City        State  Zip 
 
Email: ______________________________Date of Birth: ______________ Sex: ____M ____F 
   
Home Phone ____________________ Work Phone ____________________ 
 
Business Name: __________________________________ 
 
Business Mailing Address:____________________________________________________________________ 
 
___________________  __________  ________    
City        State  Zip 
 
Location of Business: (If different from above.)  
 
___________________________________________County:___________________________ 
 
The following must be answered by the person or firm conducting the business even if the same as the fur 
dealer:  Has either party to this application ever been convicted of violating any part of the fur law? 
 
Yes______ No______  If "yes," year of offense,        
 
              
 
 
 
 
  



6/28/2016 

 
 
 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT:_________________________ DATE:_________________ 
By my signature above, I hereby certify that all entries made on this application are true and complete, and I agree and 
understand that any falsification of information herein, regardless of time of discovery, may result in denial or revocation 
of my permit. 
TYPED SIGNATURE IS AUTHORIZED AND BINDING PER CODE OF VIRGINIA §1-13.32 AND §2.1-7.4 
 
Send this application and the non-refundable application fee for $50.00 for residents and $125.00 for nonresidents, check 
made payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, to: Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, Permits Section, P.O. 
Box 3337, Henrico, Virginia 23228. (804) 367-9588   
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FUR DEALER PERMIT CONDITIONS 
 
§ 29.1-404 - The qualifications for securing resident county and state hunting and fishing licenses (noted in § 
29.1-319) shall apply to obtaining permits under this article.  
 
§ 29.1-400 - It shall be unlawful to buy, sell, barter, exchange, traffic or trade in, bargain for, solicit for 
purchase, or possess the hides, furs or pelts of wild animals, or otherwise deal in fur as a business, without 
having first obtained a permit, subject to the exemptions in § 29.1-401. 
 
§ 29.1-401 - Exemptions as to fur permits. 

A. A permit shall not be required of any hunter or trapper to possess or dispose of the hides, furs or pelts 
of wild animals legally shot or caught by him nor of any person lawfully engaging in the business of fur farming 
to possess or to dispose of the hides, furs or pelts of wild animals raised by him. 
 

B. A permit shall not be required of any Virginia resident who is a member of an American Indian tribe 
recognized by the Commonwealth or a member of a federally recognized American Indian tribe to buy and 
possess the hides, furs, pelts or skeletal parts of legally obtained wild animals, except bear as prohibited in § 
29.1-536, when such items are to be used as part of traditional American Indian religious practices. Resale of 
items obtained under this section is prohibited. 
 
§ 29.1-403 - All fur permits shall be for the fiscal year, July 1 through June 30, and shall be obtained from the 
Department by written application. 
 
§ 29.1-406 - The violation of any of the terms of this article shall constitute a Class 3 misdemeanor. 
Furthermore, the trial court shall revoke the permit of the fur dealer, and he shall not have a similar permit for 
that season or for the succeeding season. He may, however, be eligible for a permit thereafter. 
 
§ 29.1-407 - Any furs found in the possession of any person or firm and acquired in violation of this article shall 
be forfeited to the Commonwealth. 
 
§ 29.1-536 - When taken in accordance with the provisions of law or regulation, muskrat, opossum, rabbits, 
raccoon and squirrels may be bought and sold during the open hunting season only, but the hides, furs or pelts 
of fur-bearing animals legally taken and possessed, and the carcass of any fur-bearing animal may be sold at 
any time in accordance with §§ 29.1-400 through 29.1-407.  (The sale of bear or bear parts is illegal.)  
 
4 VAC 15-70-50 and 4 VAC 15-170-30 - It shall be unlawful to tan, mount, buy, sell, barter, exchange, traffic 
or trade in, bargain for, solicit for, purchase, or transport out of the Commonwealth, any bobcat or river otter 
pelts until the pelts have been sealed by an agent of the department. All bobcat and otter pelts or unskinned 
carcasses required to be sealed under the provision of this section must be sealed not later than April 1 of the 
license year in which the animal is taken. 
 
4 VAC 15-90-280 - It shall be lawful to sell hides and hooves from any legally taken deer. 
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General Permit Information 
 
4 VAC 15-30-7 - Provided that the issuance of a permit renewal by the Department has been delayed past the 
expiration date of the permittee's previous permit at no fault of the applicant, the permittee may continue the 
specific activities authorized by the expired permit until the Department has acted on such person's application 
for renewal. To qualify for this allowance, applicants must submit a completed renewal application to the 
Department at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of their permit.  The Department may deny renewal of a 
permit to any applicant who fails to meet the issuance criteria set forth by the Department.  Renewal 
applications will be mailed approximately two months in advance of the permit’s expiration date. 
 
This permit does not absolve the permittee of any responsibilities or conditions of any other federal, state, or 
local laws and regulations, including those that apply to Threatened or Endangered Species. 
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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
ANNUAL RAW FUR DEALER'S REPORT 

 
From July 1, 20___ to June 30, 20___ 

 
COMPLETE AND MAIL THIS REPORT BY JULY 10th TO: 
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, Permits Section,  P.O. Box 3337, Henrico, Virginia 23228 
THIS REPORT MUST BE MADE AND FILED with the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
within ten days after the end of the fiscal year, whether an application is submitted for renewal or not (§29.1-
405, Code of Virginia). 
 

TOTAL FOR PERMIT PERIOD ABOVE (Fiscal Year) 
VIRGINIA PELTS ONLY 

Species 
of 

Animal 

Number 
Brokered 

for 
Trappers 

Number 
Purchased 

from 
Trappers 

Number 
Brokered 

for 
Hunters 

Number 
Purchased 

from 
Hunters 

Average 
Price of 

Pelts 
Purchased 

Number 
of Pelts 
Caught 

Yourself 
Beaver _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Bobcat _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Coyote _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Deer, Whitetail _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Fox, Gray _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Fox, Red _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Nutria _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Mink _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Muskrat _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Opossum _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Otter _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Rabbit _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Raccoon _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Weasel _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Skunk, Striped _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Squirrel _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Other  _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 
Other  _________ _________ _________ _________ _________ ___________ 

It is unlawful to sell the pelt of the Spotted Skunk (4 VAC 15-220-20) or the Black Bear  (§29.1-521, Code of 
Virginia).  
 

PERMITTEE SIGNATURE SECTION NEXT PAGE 
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____Mr. ____Mrs. ____Ms. ____Miss. 
 

Name: ________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address:_______________________________________________________________ 
 
City:__________________________________State:____________Zip_____________ 
 
Phone:__________________ Kind of Permit: ___Resident  ___Nonresident 

  
Permit Number________________________ 
 

CERTIFICATION 
 
I hereby certify that this report was prepared by me or under my personal supervision and is a true and correct 
report of all Virginia pelts purchased or brokered under permit no. ____________ between July 1, 20___ and 
June 30, 20___.  I understand that failure to submit this report within the ten days after the end of each fiscal 
year may result in loss of my fur permit. 
 
 
 ________________________________   _____________________ 
       Signature of Permittee        Date 
 
Please type or print. Illegible and/or incomplete forms will not be accepted. 
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