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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

APPLICATION 
FOR HAUL SEINE PERMIT TO TAKE NONGAME FISH FOR SALE 

(Under Authority of §29.1-412,§29.1-416, Code of Virginia, 4 VAC 15-340-10) 
 
Non-refundable Application Fee: $45.00 for each net in use   
 
PERMIT (Check One): ___ NEW  ___ RENEWAL  PREVIOUS PERMIT NUMBER: _____________ 
  
____Mr. ____Mrs. ____Ms. ____Miss. 
 
Name of Applicant _____________________________________________________________ 
 
Address___________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________  ____________  ________     
City         State         ZIP   County 
 
Home Phone ____________________  Work Phone ____________________   
 
Email         
 
_______________________________ ______________________________________ 
County in which haul seine will be used. Stream in which haul seine will be used. 
 
This permit authorizes the holder to take nongame fish with a haul seine for sale according to the permit 
conditions. 
Have you been convicted of violating any federal or state wildlife laws or wildlife-related regulations within the 
past 5 years?   
 
Yes____ No____ If “yes”, year and nature of offense__________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
________________________________________  ______________________ 
Signature of Applicant     Date 
By my signature above, I hereby certify that all entries made on this application are true and complete, and I 
agree and understand that any falsification of information herein, regardless of time of discovery, may result in 
denial or revocation of my permit. 
TYPED SIGNATURE IS AUTHORIZED AND BINDING PER CODE OF VIRGINIA §1-13.32 AND §2.1-7.4 
Send this application with a check or money order for the non-refundable application fee made payable to the 
TREASURER OF VIRGINIA to:  

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
Permits Section 
P O Box 3337 

Henrico, VA  23228 
Voice: 804-367-9588     

 
PERMIT PERIOD IS OCTOBER 1ST THROUGH SEPTEMBER 30TH 
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 HAUL SEINE PERMIT TO TAKE FISH FOR SALE 
 
 PERMIT CONDITIONS 
 
A.  A haul seine permit shall authorize the person to whom the permit is issued to take fish for sale as specified 
with a haul seine from the waters designated by regulation of the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries.  These 
waters include: 
 
  Virginia Beach City: In Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including Lake Tecumseh and Red Wing 
Lake), North Landing River from the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not including Blackwater River), the 
open season to take all fish, except game fish, with a haul seine shall be from November 1 through March 31, 
both dates inclusive.  There is an American and Hickory Shad limit of 10 per day in the aggregate (combined) 
for the Virginia Beach waters. 
 
B.  The holder of a haul seine permit must be present with the same at all times when it is being operated. The 
holder, however, may have others to assist him and such persons assisting are not required to have a permit. 
 
C.  The length of net shall not be more than 500 yards. The size of mesh shall be 1-1/2 inch bar mesh. 
 
D.  It shall be unlawful for any person to ship or otherwise transport any package, box or other receptacle 
containing fish taken under a haul seine permit unless the same bears a label showing the name and address of 
the owner of the seine and a statement of the kind of fish contained therein. 
 
E.  The holder of a permit to take fish for sale by means of haul seines shall keep a record of the pounds of fish 
taken by species and location (name and county of water body), and the pounds of each species sold.  Reports to 
the Department are due by October 1st annually. 
 
F.  It shall be unlawful in the inland waters of the Commonwealth to take game fish in a seine, net, pot or trap, 
and all game fish caught in such seines, nets, pots or traps shall immediately be returned without injury to the 
waters from which taken. (4 VAC 15-360-40) 
 
G.  This permit does not absolve the permittee of any responsibilities or conditions of any other Federal, State 
or Local laws and regulations, including those that apply to Threatened/Endangered Species. 
 
H.  Regulation 4 VAC 15-30-7 states that provided that the issuance of a permit renewal has been delayed past 
the expiration date of the permittee’s previous permit at no fault of the applicant, the permittee may continue the 
specific activities authorized by the expired permit until the Department has acted on such person’s application 
for renewal.  To qualify for this allowance, applicants must submit a completed renewal application to the 
Department at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the permit.  The Department may deny renewal of a 
permit to any applicant who fails to meet the issuance criteria set forth by the Department.  Renewal 
applications will be mailed approximately two months in advance of the permit’s expiration date. 
 
I. COMPLIANCE/VIOLATION/REVOCATION: 
 

A. Regulation 4 VAC 15-290-130 states that a permit holder shall comply with all terms and conditions of 
any permit issued by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries pursuant to Title 29.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and the regulations of the board pertaining to hunting, fishing, trapping, attempting to take, 
possession, sale, offering for sale, transporting or causing to be transported, importing or exporting, 
propagating, exhibiting, and rehabilitating of any wild bird, wild animal or fish.  The penalty for violation 
of this section is a Class 3 misdemeanor unless another penalty is specified.  Further, any violation of 
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state or federal wildlife laws related to the permitted activities by the permittee, his/her agents or 
employees, or guests will constitute a violation of the conditions of the permit. 

 
     B. As provided by 4 VAC 15-30-5, failure to comply with the provisions of a permit may result in the 
          revocation or suspension of the permit for a period up to but not to exceed five (5) years. Any person 
         whose permit is revoked, or suspended may appeal that decision in writing, to the Director, Department of  
         Game and Inland Fisheries, P O Box 3337, Henrico, VA  23228. 
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 DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
 
 HAUL SEINE PERMIT FOR SALE 
 
 REPORT OF POUNDS TAKEN 
 
THIS REPORT MUST BE MADE AND FILED with the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries by October 
1st , whether an application is submitted for renewal or not.  P O Box 3337, Henrico, VA  23228 
 
PERMIT NUMBER ____________ 
 
____Mr. ____Mrs. ____Ms. ____Miss. 
 
NAME __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
ADDRESS________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
CITY      STATE  ZIP  COUNTY 
 
Home Phone ____________________  Work Phone ____________________  Email _____________________ 
 
    SPECIES           POUNDS TAKEN     NAME OF WATER BODY           POUNDS SOLD 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
____________ ____________ ___________________________    ___________ 
 
 
SIGNATURE ________________________________  DATE___________________ 
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