
Reporting a Boating Accident 
As the operator of a vessel, you are required by law to file a formal, written report of your 
boating accident with the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries under certain 
circumstances. 

 
When a Report is Required 
A formal, written report must be filed with Virginia Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries when there is: 

 
• damage over $2000 by or to the vessel or its equipment; 
• injury (requiring medical help beyond first aid) or loss of life; and/or 
• disappearance of any person on board a vessel. 

 
Failure to report boating accidents as specified above shall be punishable as a Class 
4 Misdemeanor. When a person dies or disappears as a result of an occurrence that 
involves a vessel or its equipment, the operator is required by law to notify the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries in Richmond, Virginia, or the most 
immediately available Department Conservation Police Officer without delay and 
by the quickest means possible. 

 
Time Frame for Reporting 
Reports must be filed within the following time frames from the boating accident: 

 
• 48 hours if there is loss of life within 24 hours of the accident; 
• 48 hours if a person involved is injured and cannot perform usual activities; 
• 48 hours if a person disappears; 
• 10 days if an earlier report is not required but becomes necessary; and/or 
• 10 days if the boat or property damage is in excess of $2000 or total boat loss. 

 
How to Report an Accident 
You may submit the completed forms in person or send them to: 

 
Boating Accident – Recreational Safety 
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
P.O. Box 90778 
Henrico, Virginia 23228 

 
The boat operator or owner usually completes the form unless she/he is physically unable 
to do so. 



Call the Law Enforcement Division at the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries if 
you have difficulty completing an accident report form (Central Office in Richmond, 
804-367-1000). 

To report an accident that has just occurred, please contact the Department of Game 
and Inland Fisheries Dispatch Section at (804) 367-5415. A Conservation Police 

Officer will be dispatched to the scene to investigate the accident

Why Report an Accident 
Reporting boating accidents is required by law in the specific situations mentioned (see 
"When a Report is Required"). The information you submit is used to determine safer 
boating practices which are then shared with the boating public, boat manufacturers and 
equipment manufacturers. The details you provide may prevent another boater from 
having a similar accident. Thank you for your cooperation with the law and in helping 
others. 

Duty to Stop and Render Assistance 
It is the duty of every operator involved in a collision to stop and offer assistance. 
Operators involved in a collision who knowingly fail to comply with this law when the 
collision or accident results in serious bodily injury to, or the death of, any person, shall 
be guilty of a Class 6 Felony. When the collision or accident results in only property 
damage, the operator who does not comply with this law shall be guilty of a Class 1 
Misdemeanor. Damage of less than $50 to an unattended vessel is punishable by a 
maximum $50 fine. 



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF GAME & INLAND FISHERIES 
P. O. BOX 90778, HENRICO, VA  23228 

Year: 
Control No.: 

BOATING ACCIDENT REPORT 
The operator/owner of a vessel used for recreational purposes is required to file a report in writing whenever an accident results in: loss of life or disappearance from a 
vessel; an injury which requires medical treatment beyond first aid; or property damage in excess of $2000 or complete loss of the vessel. Reports in death and injury 
cases must be submitted within 48 hours. Reports in other cases must be submitted within 10 days. Reports must be submitted in person or by mail to the above 
address. This form is provided to assist the operator in filing the required written report. 

COMPLETE ALL BLOCKS. (indicate those not applicable by “NA”) 
NAME AND ADDRESS OF OPERATOR AGE OF OPERATOR 

DATE OF BIRTH 

OPERATOR’S  EXPERIENCE 
This type of boat Other Boat Operating Exp. 
[   ]Under 20 Hours [   ]Under 20 Hours 
[   ]20-100 Hours [  ]20-100 Hours 
[   ]100-500 Hours [  ]100-500 Hours 
[   ]Over 500 Hours [   ]Over 500 Hours 

OPERATOR TELEPHONE NUMBER OWNER TELEPHONE NUMBER 

NAME AND ADDRESS OF OWNER RENTED 
BOAT? 
[   ]YES 
[   ]NO 

NUMBER OF 
PERSONS ON 
BOARD 

FORMAL INSTRUCT ION IN BOATING SAFETY 
[   ]None [   ]State [  ]U.S. Power Squadrons 
[   ]USCG Auxiliar [  ]American Red Cross 
[  ]Other (Specify) 

VESSEL NO. 1 (this vessel) 
BOAT REGSTR. NO. BOAT NAME BOAT MAKE BOAT MODEL MFR. HULL ID NO. 

TYPE OF BOAT 
[  ] Open Motorboat 
[  ]Cabin Motorboat 
[  ]Auxiliary Sail 
[  ]Sail (only) 
[  ]Rowboat 
[   ]Canoe 
[  ]Other(Specify) 

HULL MATERIAL 
[   ]Wood 
[  ]Aluminum 
[   ]Steel 
[  ]Fiberglass 
[  ]Rubber/Vinyl 
[  ]Other (Specify) 

ENGINE 
[  ]Outboard 
[  ]Inboard gasoline 
[  ]Inboard diesel 
[  ]Inboard-outdrive 
[   ]Jet 
[  ]Other (Specify) 

PROPULSION 
No. of engines: 
Horsepower(total): 
Type of fuel: 

CONSTRUCTION 
Length: 
Year built(boat): 

Has boat had a Safety Examination? [ ]YES [ ]NO 
For Current Year? [ ]YES [ ]NO Year: 
Indicate whether: [ ]USCG Auxiliary Courtesy Marine Exam. 
[ ]State/local examination [ ]Other 

ACCIDENT DATA 
DATE OF ACCIDENT TIME am 

Pm 
NAME OF BODY OF WATER LOCATION (Give location precisely) 

Lat: Long: 
STATE NEAREST CITY OR TOWN COUNTY 

WEATHER 
[  ]Clear [  ]Rain 
[   ]Cloudy    [   ]Snow 
[   ]Fog [   ]Hazy 

WATER  CONDISTIONS 
[ ]Calm(waves less than 

6”) 
[ ]Choppy(waves 6”-2’) 
[ ]Rough(waves 2’-6’) 
[ ]Very Rough(greater 

than 6’) 
[ ]Strong Current 

TEMPERATURE 
(Estimate) 
Air: ºF 
Water: ºF 

WIND 
[  ]None 
[ ]Light(0-6mph) 
[  ]Moderate(7-14mph) 
[ ]Strong(15-25mph) 
[  ]Storm(Over 25mph) 

VISIBILITY 
Day Night 
[   ] Good [   ] 
[  ] Fair [  ] 
[   ] Poor [   ] 

OPERATION AT TIME OF ACCIDENT 
(Check all applicable)         [ ]Drifting 
[ ]Commercial Activity        [  ]At Anchor 
[ ]Cruising        [ ]Tied to Dock 
[  ]Maneuvering            [  ]Fueling 
[  ]Approaching Dock           [  ]Fishing 
[ ]Leaving Dock         [ ]Hunting 
[ ]Water Skiing          [ ]Racing 
[ ]Towing [ ]Being Towed 
[ ]Skin Diving/Swimming 
[  ]Other (Specify) 

TYPE OF ACCIDENT 
[  ]Grounding [ ]Capsizing 
[ ]Flooding [     ]Sinking 
[  ]Falls in Boat  [  ]Fallen skier 
[ ]Fire or Explosion(fuel) 
[ ]Fire or Explosion 

(other than fuel) 
[ ]Collision with vessel 
[ ]Collision with fixed object 
[ ]Collision with floating object 
[ ]Falls Overboard 
[  ]Hit by Boat or Propeller 
[ ]Other (Specify) 

WHAT IN YOUR OPINION CONTRIBUTED TO THE 
ACCIDENT? (Check all applicable) 
[ ]Weather [ ]Alcohol use 
[ ]Excessive speed [ ]Drug use 
[  ]No Proper Lookout [  ]Fault of Hull 
[ ]Restricted Vision [ ]Fault of Machinery 
[ ]Overloading [ ]Fault of Equipment 
[ ]Improper Loading  [ ]Operator Inexperience 
[  ]Hazardous Waters [  ]Operator Inattention 
[  ]Other (Specify) 

PERSONAL FLOATATION DEVICES (PFD’S) PROPERTY DAMAGE FIRE  EXTINGUISHERS 
Was the boat adequately equipped with        Was the vessel carrying NON-approved 
COAST GUARD APPROVED FLOTATION   flotation devices?    [ ]YES [ ]NO 
DEVICES?  [   ]YES  [   ]NO  Were they accessible? [ ]YES [ ]NO 
Were they accessible?         [  ]YES [  ]NO          Were they used?          [ ]YES [ ]NO 
Were they serviceable?   [   ]YES  [   ]NO   If Yes, indicate kin d 
Were they used by survivors?   [   ]YES  [   ]NO 
What Type?  [   ]I, [   ]II, [   ]III, [   ]IV, [   ]V (specify) 
Were PFD’s properly Used? [ ]YES [ ]NO Adjusted? [ ]YES [ ]NO Sized? [ ]YES [ ]NO 
Include any comments on PFD’s under ACCIDENT DESCRIPTION on other side of form 

Estimated amount 
This Boat $ 
Other Boat $ 
Other Property $ 

Were they used? (If yes, list 
Type(s) and number used.) 
[   ]YES   [   ]NO 
Types: 

DESCRIBE PROPERTY DAMAGE 

NAME/ADDRESS - OWNER OF DAMAGED PROPERTY 



If more than 3 fatalities and/or injuries, attach additional form(s). 
DECEASED 

NAME ADDRESS DATE OF BIRTH WAS VICTIM? 
[  ] Swimmer 
[  ]Non-Swimmer 

DEATH CAUSED BY 
[  ]Drowning 
[   ]Other 

WAS PFD WORN? 
[   ]YES    [   ]NO 
What Type? 

[  ]DISAPPEARANCE 
NAME ADDRESS DATE OF BIRTH WAS VICTIM? 

[  ] Swimmer 
[  ]Non-Swimmer 

DEATH CAUSED BY 
[  ]Drowning 
[   ]Other 

WAS PFD WORN? 
[   ]YES    [   ]NO 
What Type? 

[  ]DISAPPEARANCE 
NAME ADDRESS DATE OF BIRTH WAS VICTIM? 

[  ] Swimmer 
[  ]Non-Swimmer 

DEATH CAUSED BY 
[  ]Drowning 
[   ]Other 

WAS PFD WORN? 
[   ]YES    [   ]NO 
What Type? 

[  ]DISAPPEARANCE 
INJURED 

NAME ADDRESS DATE OF BIRTH NATURE OF INJURY MEDICAL 
TREATMENT 
[  ]YES   [  ]NO 

NAME ADDRESS DATE OF BIRTH NATURE OF INJURY MEDICAL 
TREATMENT 
[  ]YES   [  ]NO 

NAME ADDRESS DATE OF BIRTH NATURE OF INJURY MEDICAL 
TREATMENT 
[  ]YES   [  ]NO 

ACCIDENT DESCRIPTION 
DESCRIBE WHAT HAPPENED (Sequence of events. Include Failure of Equipment. If diagram is needed attach separately. Continue on additional 
sheets if necessary. Include any information regarding the involvement of alcohol and/or drugs in causing or contributing to the accident. Include 
any descriptive information about the use of PFD’s.) 

VESSEL NO. 2 (if more than 2 vessels, attach additional form(s). 
Name of Operator Address Boat Number 

Telephone Number Boat Name 

Name of Owner Address 

WITNESSES 
Name Address Telephone Number 

Name Address Telephone Number 

Name Address Telephone Number 

PERSON COMPLETING REPORT 
SIGNATURE Address Telephone Number 

Qualification(Check One) 
[  ]Operator [  ]Owner  [  ]Inestigator [  ]Other 

Date Submitted 

(do not use) – FOR REPORTING AUTHORITY REVIEW (use agency date stamp) 
Causes based on (check one) 
[ ]This Report [ ]Investigation and this report 
[ ]Investigation [ ]Could not be determined 

Name of Reviewing Office Date Received 

Primary Cause of Accident Secondary Cause of Accident Reviewed By 
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