Restrictions on Dangerous Python & Anaconda Species


Albino Burmese python. Photo by Caroline Seitz.

The eight large non-native snakes shown below have been added the list of injurious species barred in the United States from import and interstate transport under the Lacey Act:

  • Python molurus (which includes Burmese python [Python molurus bivittatus] and Indian python [Python molurus molurus])
  • Northern African python (Python sebae)
  • Southern African python (Python natalensis)
  • Yellow anaconda (Eunectes notaeus)
  • Reticulated Python (Python reticulatus, Broghammerus reticulatus, or Malayopython reticulatus)
  • DeSchauensee’s Anaconda (Eunectes deschauenseei)
  • Green Anaconda (Eunectes murinus)
  • Beni Anaconda (Eunectes beniensis)

These species have been restricted by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to prevent the accidental or intentional introduction of, and the possible subsequent establishment of populations of, these snakes in the wild in the United States.