Virginia.gov

News Release

For Immediate Release
4/16/2013
Contact
Gary Costanzo, 804-829-6580

NOTE: This news release was distributed on 4/16/2013. The information below may no longer be the most up-to-date information available, or may pertain solely to events that occurred in the past. Please contact the person listed as the contact person for this release for the most current information.

Stationary Waterfowl Blind Sign-Up Dates

Blind Licenses can be purchased online or at any license agent

Richmond - Waterfowl hunters who license stationary blinds are being reminded by the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries (VDGIF) to purchase their stationary blind licenses for this coming waterfowl hunting season (2013-2014) during the time periods listed below. These dates are the same as during the past 2 years and are as follows:

Riparian owners, their lessees or permittees: May 1 through June 15; plates with current decal must be affixed to a stake or blind by June 30.

Nonriparian license for a stationary blind in the public waters previously licensed the year before: July 1 through August 15; plates with current decal must be affixed to a stake or blind by August 31.

Nonriparian license for a stationary blind in the public waters not previously licensed the year before: September 1 through October 15; plates with current decal must be affixed to a stake or blind by November 1.

All other blind laws and blind purchase dates (Floating Blinds, Offshore Blind Stake Sites) remain the same as in the past 2 years. For all stationary blinds, if a stake has been erected on the site of a stationary blind, such stake must be replaced by a blind by November 1. Such stationary blinds shall conform to the standards prescribed in law.

All blind licenses are sold through the VDGIF's point of sale system just as other licenses are sold. This can be done with any license agent in the state or via the internet from your home through the Department's website http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/licenses/.

A license will be provided to you at the time of sale. You will have the option to request that a blind plate be sent to you if you do not have one. The blind plate, if requested, and a decal for the plate will be mailed to you within 3 to 5 business days.

Information on the dates for purchasing blinds and the purchasing process are also posted on the Department's website www.dgif.virginia.gov and will be listed in upcoming regulation brochures.