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INSTRUCTIONS FOR TITLING/REGISTERING WATERCRAFT UNDER THE 
PROVISIONS OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA FOR ESTRAY AND DRIFT PROPERTY 

 

To register/title a vessel under this provision requires that the boat be washed up on the applicant’s 
own property or adrift in public waters. 

 
1. If the boat has registration numbers from the Commonwealth of Virginia or from any other state, 

contact that state to determine the last registered/titled owner(s)’ name and address as well as any 
lienholder’s name and address. 

2. Send a certified letter to that last registered owner and lienholder at the address listed in the official 
records for the state in which the boat was registered/titled.  The letter that you should send is 
attached to this form. 

3. Wait at least 30 days for a response from the last registered owner and lienholder.  After 30 days have 
passed, proceed with the instructions below. 

4. Contact the clerk of court in the county/city in which the boat was found. 
5. The Clerk shall issue warrants to three free-holders (appraisers) requiring them to view and appraise 

the boat and certify their results with a description and valuation of the boat. 
6. The Clerk shall post copies of the appraisal certifications at the front door of the County/City 

courthouse on the first day of two terms of court after receiving the certificates. 
7. If the boat is found to be valued above $5.00, the applicant must post a notice in a newspaper of 

general circulation for three consecutive days.  The notice should describe the boat in detail and give 
instructions for how to contact the applicant to re-claim the boat.  The notice should also state the 
owner has until the end of the second term of court to re-claim the boat (ask the Court Clerk for a 
specific date). 

8. If the owner has not then appeared, the court will issue an order of award to the applicant. 
9. The applicant may then make application to the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries for a 

Watercraft Registration/Title by submitting the following documentation: 
 
 
 

 Application for Certificate of Title/Certificate of Number (Registration) completed and 
signed. 

 A copy of the court order awarding the applicant the property. 
 The return receipt card from the post office showing a certified letter was sent to the last 

registered owner and lienholder and the signature of that owner and lienholder, or if the 
letter was returned as undeliverable, the unopened letter. 

 Copies of the advertisements that were published in a newspaper of general circulation for 
three consecutive days or a verification letter from the newspaper confirming the content 
of the advertisement and the days it was published. 

 The Completed, notarized Affidavit for Transfer of Watercraft Title and Registration By 
Operation of Law. 
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Code of Virginia 
Title 55; Chapter 11 

• 55 -202 - Estray, or boat adrift, to be valued and described 
• 55 -203 - Valuation, etc., to be recorded and posted 
• 55 -204 - When landowner, etc., entitled to the property 
• 55 -205 - Right of recovery by former owner 
• 55 -206 - When landowner, etc., not liable 
• 55 -207 - Who entitled to drift property 
• 55 -208 - Conditions on which owner may remove it 
• 55 -209 - When owner of land may sell drift property; owner of property entitled to proceeds after 

payment of expenses, etc 
• 55 -210 - Right of property to be proved 

 
§ 55-202 Estray, or boat adrift, to be valued and described 

Any person may take up an estray found on his land or a boat or vessel adrift. He shall immediately 
inform the court not of record, or clerk thereof, of his county or corporation, who shall issue warrants to 
three freeholders, requiring them under oath to view and appraise such estray or boat or vessel, and certify 
the result, with a description of the kind, marks, brand, stature, color and age of the animal, or kind, 
burden and build of the boat or vessel. 

§ 55-203 Valuation, etc., to be recorded and posted 

The freeholders shall return their certificate, with the warrant, to the clerk of the circuit court of the 
county, or clerk of the corporation court of the city, who shall record the same in a book kept for that 
purpose and post a copy thereof at the front door of his courthouse on the first day of two terms of court 
next after receiving the certificate. 

 
§ 55-204 When landowner, etc., entitled to the property 

If the owner of such property has not then appeared and the valuation thereof be under five dollars, or if 
such valuation is as much as five dollars and the owner shall not have appeared after the certificate has 
been published as aforesaid and also three times in some newspaper published nearest to the place where 
such property was taken up, it shall belong in either case to the owner of the land on which it was so 
taken, if an estray, or to the person taking it up in the case of a boat or vessel. 

§ 55-205 Right of recovery by former owner 

The former owner may at any time after recover the valuation money except the amount of the clerk's and 
printer's fees and such compensation for keeping the property as shall be certified under oath by any two 
freeholders in the county or corporation where the property was valued to be reasonable, and also fees of 
the justice of the peace and the freeholders for services rendered by them. 

§ 55-206 When landowner, etc., not liable 
If such estray die or any such property be lost to the owner of the land or person taking it up, without his 
fault, he shall not be liable for the same or its valuation. 
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§ 55-207 Who entitled to drift property 
 
When any property, not mentioned in § 55-202 is drifted on any of the waters of this Commonwealth and 
deposited and left on the lands of any person other than the owner of such property, the owner of such 
land shall, as against all persons other than the owner of such property, be deemed and treated, and have 
the same rights and remedies relating thereto, as such owner thereof. 

 
§ 55-208 Conditions on which owner may remove it 

 
The owner of such property, after he shall have paid to the owner of the land a just compensation for any 
proper care, labor or expense bestowed, done or incurred by him about such property, but not before, may 
enter upon the land and, doing as little injury as possible thereto, remove the property therefrom, but shall 
pay the owner of the land for any damage caused to him by such entry and removal. 

 
§ 55-209 When owner of land may sell drift property; owner of property entitled to proceeds after 
payment of expenses, etc 

 
If the owner of the property shall not, within three months from the time the same was so deposited, 
remove or demand the property from the owner of the land, the owner of the land may sell the property or 
otherwise convert it to his own use; but the owner of the land after deducting a just compensation for any 
proper care, labor or expense bestowed, done or incurred by him about the property from the amount 
received by him as the price thereof, or the actual value thereof at the time of such sale or other 
conversion, shall pay to the owner of the property, if he shall elect to receive it, the residue of the price or 
of the actual value, as the case may be. The owner of the property, after he shall have demanded such 
residue, and proved by the affidavit of some other person, or by a competent witness, his right thereto, or 
offered to prove such right, and the owner of the land shall have refused or declined to inspect or hear the 
evidence thereof, but not before, may recover such residue, when the property has been sold, as money 
received for his use, or, when the property has not been sold, as the price of goods sold by the owner of 
the property to the owner of the land, or he may have his action of trover to the extent of such residue. 

 
§ 55-210 Right of property to be proved 

 
In any action, suit, prosecution or controversy about any such property, the person, other than the owner 
of such land, claiming to be the owner of the property, must prove his ownership in order to sustain his 
claim. 

 



BRT-007 Estray and Adrift 
Revised November 2015 

 
DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
BOAT REGISTRATION AND TITLING SECTION  
P . O. BOX 9930, HENRICO VA 23228-9930 
(804) 367-6135 

 
 
 

AFFIDAVIT FOR TRANSFER OF WATERCRAFT TITLE AND REGISTRATION 
BY OPERATION OF LAW 

 

As Required by §29.1-717.2 of the Code of Virginia 
 

Date________________________ Virginia  Title  No._______________ 
 

NOTE:  This affidavit is required for transfer by operation of law of the title or interest of an owner to a 
watercraft previously numbered and titled under Chapter 7 of the Code of Virginia. 

 
I (we) hereby certify that the following information is true and correct to the best of my (our) knowledge: 

 
1. That the vessel described herein has legally come into my (our) possession by means of: 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 
(legatee, distributee, joint tenant, bankruptcy, execution sale, repossession, or court order) 

 
on the ______________day of _____________________________________________, 20________ from: 

 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 

(Name) (Address) 
 

2. a. The certificate of title previously issued for the watercraft is attached. 
b. The certificate of title is unavailable and a certified letter requesting the title was sent to the previous 
owner at his last known address.  (Attach certified mail receipts and letter if returned unopened.) 
c. That the lienholder has been contacted and the lien has been satisfied.  (Attach written proof from 
lienholder that lien has been satisfied). 
d. If purchased, a copy of the bill of sale is attached. 

 
3. That based on the above certifications and the attached evidence of my/our ownership of said vessel, 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

(List Attachments) 
I/we request that a Watercraft Registration/Title for the watercraft described below be issued in my/our name(s): 

 
VA No._____________________ Make___________________________________ Model Year________________ 
Length______________________ Hull Identification Number___________________________________________ 
Name   of   Applicant(s)____________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________   
Signature of      Applicant(s)_________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 
 

STATE OF VIRGINIA 
City/county of ________________: 
On this ________day of ___________, 20________ before me personally appeared the affiant(s) signing above, 
acknowledged and made oath that the matters set forth in the foregoing affidavit are true. 
_______________________________________ ___________________________________________ 

(Notary Public) (My Commission Expires) 
 

(Seal) 
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Commonwealth of Virginia 
Code of Virgi nia 

 

§ 29.1-717.2. Transfer by Operation of Law. - In the event of a transfer by operation of law of 
the title or interest of an owner in and to a watercraft numbered and titled under the provisions of 
this chapter, the transferee or his legal representative shall make application to the Department 
for a certificate of title therefor, giving the name and address of the person entitled thereto, and 
accompany such application with the certificate of number and certificate of title previously 
issued for the watercraft, if available, together with such instruments or documents of authority, 
or certified copies thereof, as are required by law to evidence or effect a transfer of title or 
interest in or to chattels in such case. The Department shall cancel the certificate of number and 
title of the watercraft and issue a new certificate of number and title to the person entitled 
thereto. 

For purposes of this section, transfers by operation of law shall include transfers to anyone as 
legatee or distributee or as surviving joint owner or by an order of bankruptcy or insolvency, or 
transfers by execution sale, sales as provided for in § 43-34, repossession upon default in the 
performing of the terms of a lease or executory sales contract or transfers pursuant to any written 
agreement ratified or incorporated in a decree or order of a court of record, or otherwise than by 
the voluntary act of the person whose title or interest is so transferred (1989). 
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THIS LETTER IS TO BE DELIVERED VIA CERTIFIED MAIL TO THE LAST REGISTERED 
OWNER (S) AND LIENHOLDER ACCORDING TO THE OFFICIAL RECORDS OF THE 

STATE OF REGISTRATION AT LEAST 30 DAYS PRIOR TO APPLICATION FOR TITLE 
AND REGISTRATION. 

 
Date:    

 

Owner’s Name and Address: 
 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

Dear : 
 

 

According to the records of the Commonwealth/State of  

(State of Registration) 
, you 

are the last registered owner for a  with hull 
(Model year) (Make of vessel) 

identification number and registration number    
(Hull Identification Number) (Registration Number). 

which has washed up on my property or is drifting in the . 
(List body of water that boat is drifting on) 

If this vessel is not claimed within 30 days of the receipt of this letter, I/we will make application for 
Watercraft Registration/Title to the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries as is provided for 
in §55-202 of the Code of Virginia . 

 
If you wish to claim ownership of this vessel, please contact either me/us and/or the Virginia Department 
of Game and Inland Fisheries by certified letter as soon as possible at the addresses given below: 

 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
Boat Section 
PO Box 9930 
Henrico, VA 23228 

Sincerely, 

 
(Your Signature) 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

(Your name and Mailing Address) 
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